Login | Register


All times are UTC - 7 hours


It is currently 2018-Nov-18 12:20 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: The Scarab God and Devotion/Mana symbols in cost
AgePosted: 2018-Oct-10 8:01 pm 

Joined: 2012-Oct-22 5:14 am
Age: Drake
If I use The Scarab God to create a token copy of a non-black creature card in a graveyard, will the part of the ability making this token black instead of its normal color(s) change the mana symbols in that creature's cost for devotion/chroma abilities or for Elemental Resonance?

Also, how about creatures with fear/intimidate being blocked by this token? Doom Blade and similar effects?

Ex. I bring back Aurelia, Exemplar of Justice this way, will her RW symbols be seen by Iroas, God of Victory's or Erebos, God of the Dead's devotion ability? If I later enchant this Aurelia token with Elemental Resonance, what color mana do I get?

_________________
Current EDH decks: Kaalia of the Vast; Lazav, Dimir Mastermind; Marath, Will of the Wild; Cromat


Last edited by ChidyDog on 2018-Oct-11 3:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Scarab God and Devotion/Mana symbols in cost
AgePosted: 2018-Oct-10 8:18 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2016-Nov-27 2:39 pm
Age: Dragon
The Scarab God does not change or set mana cost on the cards it copies, and thus does not change the devotion they provide. An eternalized Aurelia may be black, but still has a mana cost of 2RW and thus gives 2 devotion to Iroas and 0 to Erebos. Elemental Resonance on Aurelia gives you {2}{R}{W}.

Copies of a card, including token copies of it, have all copiable values of that card:
Quote:
706.2 When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original object’s characteristics [...] The “copiable values” are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name, mana cost, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, rules text, power, toughness, and/or loyalty), as modified by other copy effects, by its face-down status, and by “as . . . enters the battlefield” and “as . . . is turned face up” abilities that set power and toughness (and may also set additional characteristics). Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status, and counters are not copied.

Comprehensive Rules section 706. Copying Objects

This means the eternalized Aurelia has a mana cost of 2RW. Ordinarily we would derive her color from her mana cost or color indicator, but The Scarab God overrides both of those and sets her color to black. This changes her color exclusively; it does nothing at all to her mana cost. She still has a mana cost of 2RW and gives 2 devotion to Iroas and 0 devotion to Erebos. She is just black instead of red/white for the purposes of effects like Doom Blade.

If The Scarab God would set her mana cost it would have to say something about her mana cost explicitly. The only card I know that sets the mana cost of a copy is Vizier of Many Faces, which says “the token has no mana cost”.

_________________
Decks: Chaos colored dragons, Mathas, the Instigator (politics and mayhem).
Beloved precons: Atraxa, Praetors' Voice; Saskia the Unyielding; Freyalise, Llanowar's Fury.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Scarab God and Devotion/Mana symbols in cost
AgePosted: 2018-Oct-11 1:02 am 

Joined: 2012-Oct-22 5:14 am
Age: Drake
Thanks for the clarification and rules references. This seemed like a weird oxymoronic thing on the surface.

After this clarification, it seems to be similar to how the devoid creatures have colored mana costs, thus still contribute appropriate devotion; but are colorless/non-black or shared color/non-artifact for other situations like fear/intimidate, Doom Blade, etc.

_________________
Current EDH decks: Kaalia of the Vast; Lazav, Dimir Mastermind; Marath, Will of the Wild; Cromat


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 41 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: