Login | Register


All times are UTC - 7 hours


It is currently 2019-Dec-11 11:41 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 245 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 13, 14, 15, 16, 17
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2019-Jul-09 10:31 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2007-Mar-28 12:38 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Omaha
On a similar (but serious) note:

Someone should unpin the old Philosophy Statement and replace it with the new one on the Announcements page.

_________________
Hypercasual and Proud

Current Deck-building Project(s):

Izoni, Thousand Eyed (Elf Tribal-ish)
Building $15-25 "Intro to Commander" Decks for my Local LGS


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2019-Jul-10 8:09 am 

Joined: 2012-Apr-11 7:17 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Also, the ban page needs some work. Hulk is still crossed out. And only PE shows as a new ban, but Iona is listed

_________________
sir squab wrote:
My... history of buying Magic cards is probably a tapestry of bad financial decisions >_>
niheloim wrote:
No, I think he's right. I'm just all butt-hurt over prophet.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2019-Oct-24 10:09 pm 

Joined: 2019-Oct-14 9:55 am
Age: Hatchling
Two quotes from this forum post, and then main page Play: #9

“Tuck” refers to the ability some cards have to put a commander into its owner's library (see Condemn, Spell Crumple or Warp World). You don't have the option to send your commander to the command zone instead of putting it in your library. The location of each commander is open information (everyone should always know what zone each commander is in), but you don't get to know where in your library your commander is. If you prefer to keep your commander in a differently-coloured sleeve (I do), you should swap it for a regular one before putting it in your library.
?

From Main Commander Rules page under : Play, Rule #9
If a Commander would be put into a library, hand, graveyard or exile from anywhere, its owner may choose to move it to the command zone instead. Details

So these conflict each other saying the player CAN take it from library and hand and put it into the CZ, then under "Tuck" option from this first post in forums it says you CAN'T have that option. Having slight argument over this at our Local game shops, since under WotC rules the CAN'T overrides the CAN for gameplay.
Which is correct: they CAN or CANNOT place it back into their CZ when opponent or ability forces them to place it in their library or hand? And can the main page rule #9 then be changed, or the forum post be changed, so they agree with each other?
Thanks. :D


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2019-Oct-24 10:26 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2006-Dec-31 12:26 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Dan_the_ArenaJudge wrote:
Which is correct: they CAN or CANNOT place it back into their CZ when opponent or ability forces them to place it in their library or hand? And can the main page rule #9 then be changed, or the forum post be changed, so they agree with each other?
Thanks. :D

The correct result (currently) is that you CAN place your commander back into the CZ if it is going to any zone other than the battlefield (or the stack I think.)

The reason for these conflicting posts, is that this rule has changed over the years, and some of the posts are pre-change (when you could only put it into the CZ if it was going to the graveyard or exile) and the rules are the current rules (where you usually get that choice when your commander makes a zone change.)

When the rule was changed, the main page rule #9 was updated to reflect that. I'm not sure how easy it is to change the forums posts.

Hope that helps!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2019-Oct-25 1:12 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2012-Dec-03 3:16 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Carthain wrote:
Dan_the_ArenaJudge wrote:
Which is correct: they CAN or CANNOT place it back into their CZ when opponent or ability forces them to place it in their library or hand? And can the main page rule #9 then be changed, or the forum post be changed, so they agree with each other?
Thanks. :D

The correct result (currently) is that you CAN place your commander back into the CZ if it is going to any zone other than the battlefield (or the stack I think.)

The reason for these conflicting posts, is that this rule has changed over the years, and some of the posts are pre-change (when you could only put it into the CZ if it was going to the graveyard or exile) and the rules are the current rules (where you usually get that choice when your commander makes a zone change.)

When the rule was changed, the main page rule #9 was updated to reflect that. I'm not sure how easy it is to change the forums posts.

Hope that helps!


I doubt people will go back and change posts, also it is kinda interesting having a historical record of how things change and what opinions people had about different topics.

_________________
Shabbaman wrote:
The usual answer is "the social contract", but I guess that is not what you are looking for. Try house rules.


With perfect mana, reasonable removal, disruption, and card advantage, we're back to pitchforks and torches. And it's about to get worse for those who do not enjoy the game as Richard Garfield intended, playing as few win conditions as possible and prompting concession after all hopes (and spells) are lost. - Shaheen Soorani


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 245 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 13, 14, 15, 16, 17

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron