Login | Register


All times are UTC - 7 hours


It is currently 2017-Aug-22 12:56 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Portal Mage
AgePosted: 2017-Aug-11 2:59 am 

Joined: 2016-Sep-16 11:05 pm
Age: Wyvern
So question about the new Portal Mage and Ghostly Prison effects.

If I'm understanding the rules and cards correctly, a person can redirect an attack to someone with ghostly prison (and company), and no additional mana cost will be required to be paid. Essentially the cost is to declare the attacker, and the redirect occurs after this point.

If I'm wrong could someone please explain it to me?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Portal Mage
AgePosted: 2017-Aug-11 3:08 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2016-Nov-27 2:39 pm
Age: Wyvern
You're correct. Ghostly Prison incurs a cost to attacker declaration, but that step is already past so the cost is irrelevant. The Commander 2017 release notes contain this ruling on Portal Mage:

Quote:
Reselecting which player or planeswalker a creature is attacking ignores all requirements, restrictions, and costs associated with attacking.


The really surprising thing to me is that would seem to suggest I can make a creature attack someone with Blazing Archon, since that card establishes a "restriction [...] associated with attacking".

_________________
Surrak Dragonclaw: +1/+1 counters and beatdown.
Queen Marchesa: themed vorthos deck, tyranny and politics.
Beloved precons: Atraxa, Praetors' Voice; Saskia the Unyielding; Freyalise, Llanowar's Fury.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Portal Mage
AgePosted: 2017-Aug-11 11:27 am 

Joined: 2014-Sep-13 7:28 am
Age: Elder Dragon
I don't see why you wouldn't be able to divert an attack through someone's Blazing Archon. 'Attack' is declaring an attacker, not just that + "but if a creature *is* attacking, then it's not anymore".


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Portal Mage
AgePosted: 2017-Aug-11 12:06 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2016-Nov-27 2:39 pm
Age: Wyvern
Sovarius wrote:
I don't see why you wouldn't be able to divert an attack through someone's Blazing Archon. 'Attack' is declaring an attacker, not just that + "but if a creature *is* attacking, then it's not anymore".


I don't mean to suggest it isn't or shouldn't be correct -- I can accept it. Just that a player who "can't be attacked" winding up attacked in spite of that ability is surprising to me. I really expect to get funny looks if I ever have to explain it -- even including after they see the relevant ruling. :lol:

_________________
Surrak Dragonclaw: +1/+1 counters and beatdown.
Queen Marchesa: themed vorthos deck, tyranny and politics.
Beloved precons: Atraxa, Praetors' Voice; Saskia the Unyielding; Freyalise, Llanowar's Fury.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Portal Mage
AgePosted: 2017-Aug-11 12:25 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2006-Dec-31 12:26 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
No different than using an effect to cause an unblockable creature to become blocked. There's a number of those around - just usually not very powerful so you don't see them much really.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Portal Mage
AgePosted: 2017-Aug-11 11:11 pm 

Joined: 2016-Sep-16 11:05 pm
Age: Wyvern
While not powerful, I do expect it to see a reasonable amount of multiplayer play, especially in metas where people are swinging lethal fast and early.

Turn 4 and you're swinging an 11/11 double strike commander at ME?!? Let's redirect you to the Mono-white player with that 1 plains untapped...

I just really like the card due to the shift of politics. Maze of Ith solves a problem. Portal Mage solves the 'not my problem yet' mindset that other players have when something big is attacking just 1 person.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 34 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: