Login | Register

All times are UTC - 7 hours

It is currently 2018-Dec-09 6:02 pm

Post subject: What could I say for you to give Commander on MTGO a chance?
AgePosted: 2015-Nov-12 1:03 pm 

We have a neat community here, I'd love to table up and play Commander with a tonne of you.

I've been playing exclusively online now for a little over a year and it's honestly not as bad as the reputation it has. The only thing I find it lacks is a stronger community.

What's stopping you from having a go online?

Offline Profile  

Post subject: Re: What could I say for you to give Commander on MTGO a chance?
AgePosted: 2015-Nov-12 1:21 pm 

GoodbyeWorld wrote:
What's stopping you from having a go online?

Outside of the terrible bugs I hear people talk about off and on? Enough to convince me it's not just bias?

Well, mostly that I enjoy sitting at a table and having a face-to-face relationship with the people I play with. I started playing Magic: 1) because it sounded like a complicated enough game to keep me interested (artwork, themes/flavors being huge freaking cherries on top); 2) it was a great way to meet, hang out with, and become friends with other intelligent guys on my dorm floor and in the community in general. I have plenty of problems building any real kind of relationship with people over the Internet; I crave true human interaction.

I understand this seems rather hypocritical of me since I 'play' through the Game Thread here--or, at least, did in the past and sometimes do now. We now try to play through Skype, and being able to actually speak to the other guys whenever everyone has a mic is fantastic.

Otherwise, I also get a weird kick out of opening packs of cards. It's exciting to see what I've gotten, but there's also a strong memory of smell associated with the process akin to new books or new cars (or the smell of old books, for that matter).

Offline Profile  

AgePosted: 2015-Nov-12 1:27 pm 

All valid points.